I’m drinking from the bottom

Of a makeshift wishing well

Stifled by a dirty poison

That I created all myself

Drowning in my fetid pool

Of useless mortal prayers

I’m soiled by old memories

That wallow in betrayal.

 

Transfigured by the lure

Of a future beyond my reach

I was crippled by a lack of faith

And everything that’d been

Tired fingers now bloodied

Clawing at the ground

Digging towards salvation

To open up her mouth.

 

Six feet of hungry earth

Will receive the gift of life

Coveting the nutrients

Flowers bloom off sacrifice

Settling all the debts

I forever owed myself

I lay down to become ashes

And bring life out of my death.

 

 

All Rights Reserved © February 2016 John J Vinacci

Leave a Reply

