[Author’s note: These are lyrics from my Irish drinking song of the same name.]

 

Last night at the local bar

Who knew hello would ever go so far?

Acting like we’re not broken

Talking because we’re hoping

Closing time’s the end of the start

 

To the womb of your living room

Where the beer and whiskey stopped all too soon

My thinking’s getting clearer

As you’re drawing nearer

Maybe I should walk out on you

 

Don’t pull me in, don’t kiss me so sincere

Don’t whisper sweet nothings, my darling

I sense how strong you think this bond is

But I think you’ll regret me in the morning

 

First light will be rising soon

And I know all too well that staying is cruel

You want to hold me closer

A new world to discover

But don’t you have too much to lose?

 

Don’t pull me in, don’t kiss me so sincere

Don’t whisper sweet nothings, my darling

I sense how strong you think this bond is

But I think you’ll regret me in the morning

 

Last night at the local bar

I regret hello ever went so far

But I’m known for being sullen

I lose it when bottles open

Sometimes Happy Hour is my demise.

 

 

All Rights Reserved © November 2016 John J Vinacci

Leave a Reply

