METEORA

 

I wind all through the heavens

Vast and timeless broad is space

From here I enjoy eternity

Though a dot both pale and blue

Grows closer I’m afraid.

 

I scree across her purgatory

Atmosphere and gravity

Burning up on my descent

Over ocean, land and finally

Worse than words can say.

 

My impact is an allegory

For hell both far and near

I came to rest in a shallow grave

Below beloved intrepid skies

The home I once rode unscathed.

 

 

All Rights Reserved © 2016 John J Vinacci

 

 

REFLECTION

 

We were calm before the storm

That once knew joy all summer long

We were young, so high, so free

‘Til muted by a clock’s disease;

 

We were the waves that broke the shore

That once caroused in bliss and joy

It’s so sad, it’s so tragic

Unexpectedly disappeared the magic;

 

We were the kites that sailed on winds

That once killed time now seeks revenge

In our youth we ignored doom

That was the morning, it’s afternoon.

 

 

All Rights Reserved © 2016 John J Vinacci

Leave a Reply

